It begins!

Today, I am embarking on a project that will last me a minimum of 197 weeks – to find and cook one dish from the national cuisine of every country on the face of the Earth. First, I made this:

jar reasonable size
It seems appropriate that the container came from World Market. Also, those were some good cookies.

Inside that cookie jar are 197 slips of paper, each with the name of a country on it. Every week, I will give the jar a good shake and pull out one name, and then search the internet (and/or my collection of cookbooks) for a dish that is specific to that nation. Then, before the week is out (hopefully), I’ll cook it, eat it, and document the process here for your entertainment. The first name will be drawn as soon as I finish this post…

Leave a Reply

